The Copyright Society of Australia Inc is a non-profit organisation whose members are people with an interest in copyright. The purpose of the Society is to provide a forum for education, discussion and exchange of ideas and information about copyright issues.

The Copyright Society is based in Sydney, but has members from around Australia and overseas. The members include lawyers, staff of copyright-related organisations, government officials, academics and students.

The Society runs between four and six functions a year on copyright issues.

It also co-hosts the biennial Copyright Law and Practice Symposium with the Australian Copyright Council, and other conferences.

Members receive copies of the Society’s journal, “Copyright Reporter”, published four times a year.

The Society has a management committee comprised of up to 20 members, each of whom are elected annually.

Sarah Kelshaw acts as secretariat to the Society.


The Society runs a number of events (generally between 4 and 6 a year) on a variety of copyright-related topics.


The Copyright Society of Australia and the Australian Copyright Council host the Biennial Copyright Law & Practice Symposium.


The Copyright Reporter is published quarterly and is included with each Copyright Society Membership. It is also available to purchase online as a subscription. Issues contain articles, case notes, and other information about copyright.